14 Dec, 2021 12:15p.m.

41177 vacancies remains unfilled in Public Sector Banks


As of December 1st, 41,177 positions, or 5% of total sanctioned posts at Public Sector Banks, are vacant, as informed by Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman. The minister was replying to a question in the Lok Sabha about whether the government is aware of the fact that the PSBs are suffering from a severe staff shortage, preventing them from doing their tasks adequately. The minister said that  95 per cent of the sanctioned personnel strength was in place.

Public Sector Banks have more than 8,05,986 sanctioned positions (PSBs). According to data, SBI had the most empty positions among the banks, with 8,544. The minister said that the small fraction of vacancies is mainly due to superannuation and other resignations.

Ms. Sitharaman in the written statement, stated, "As of 1.12.2021, there are 8,05,986 sanctioned posts and 41,177 unfilled posts in Public Sector Banks."

Officer, clerk and sub-staff are the three types of positions available. There are a total of 12 PSBs under the government. Punjab National Bank (PNB) has 6,743 empty positions, compared to 8,544 in the State Bank of India (SBI). At SBI, there were 3,423 vacancies are of officer positions and 5,121 clerical positions. There were 6,295 open positions at the Central Bank of India, followed by 5,112 at the Indian Overseas Bank and 4,848 at the Bank of India.  Other PSBs are Bank of Baroda, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Indian Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India, as per the data.

The minister added that except for one post in the Punjab & Sind Bank in 2016, no post or vacancy has been abolished in the PSBs in the last six years. She went on to say that banks hire people on a regular basis to fill vacancies based on their needs. 

Public sector banks, often known as Government banks, are banks that are owned by the government. The union government is the largest shareholder in such banks, owning more than 51 per cent of the stock. 

List of Public Sector Bank in India

SNo Public Sector Bank Headquarters
1 Punjab National Bank ( Merged with Oriental Bank Of Commerce and United Bank Of India) New Delhi
2 Indian Bank( Merged with Allahabad Bank) Chennai
3 State Bank of India Mumbai
4 Canara Bank( Merged with Syndicate Bank) Bangalore
5 Union Bank of India( Merged with Andhra Bank and Corporation Bank) Mumbai
6 Indian Overseas bank Chennai
7 UCO Bank Kolkata
8 Bank of Maharashtra Pune
9 Punjab and Sind Bank New Delhi
10 Bank of India Mumbai
11 Central Bank of India Mumbai
12 Bank of Baroda Gujarat

Whatsapp Share Button

⌂ Go to Home Page

Latest in Important News
Latest in Other News Sections

StaffCorner brings you the latest authentic Central Government Employees News.
About us | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Archives