08 Jan, 2022 6:35p.m.

Elections to 5 state assemblies to begin on February 10


The Election Commission of India announced the poll schedule for assembly elections in Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh. Polling to begin on February 10 and the results will be announced on March 10. Uttar Pradesh will go to poll in 7 phases, Manipur in two phases and Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa in one phase.

State No. of
Uttar Pradesh 7 10 Feb
14 Feb
20 Feb
23 Feb
27 Feb
3 March
7 March
403 BJP
Manipur 2 27 Feb
3 March
60 BJP
Punjab 1 14 Feb 117 INC
Uttarakhand 1 14 Feb 70 BJP
Goa  1 14 Feb 40 BJP

The ECI also laid down a slew of Covid-19 guidelines to be followed by the political parties, their respective workers, personnel on election duty.

  • Parties should provide masks and sanitisers to people attending the rally if they are allowed.
  • Only five people are allowed to take part in door-to-door campaigns," the EC reiterated.
  • The political parties have also been instructed to hold no campaign from 8 pm to 8 am in all poll-bound states.
  • A ban will exist on the holding of roadshows, padayatra by political parties and mandated that no rallies will be till January 15.
  • Political parties and candidates are advised to conduct campaigns through virtual, digital mode.
  • No nukkad sabhas or victory procession to be held after winning the elections." the EC further instructed.
  • The polling time has been increased by an hour.

Whatsapp Share Button

⌂ Go to Home Page

Latest in Important News
Latest in Other News Sections

StaffCorner brings you the latest authentic Central Government Employees News.
About us | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Archives