31 Dec, 2023 02:11 PM

Time limit extended for the submission of LTV claim

Time limit extended for the submission of LTV claim

The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions within the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) has revised the Leave Travel Concession (LTC) rules for Central Government employees. Here's a summary of the key changes and guidelines for LTC claims:

  1. New reimbursement guidelines:

    • Ministries/departments, with approval from the Head of Department (at least at the rank of Joint Secretary), can now process LTC reimbursement claims without referring to the DoPT within specified timelines.
    • Up to six months to claim reimbursement if no advance is taken.
    • If an advance is taken, three months to repay the entire amount in one lump sum, with interest charged from the withdrawal date to the repayment date.
  2. Applicability of conditions:

    • These conditions are applicable if a Central Government employee cannot submit the claim within specified time limits as per rules 14 and 15 of CCS(LTC) Rules, 1988.
    • Ministries/departments must be convinced that the delay was due to circumstances beyond the employee's control

F.No. 31011/18/2O23-Estt. (A-IV)
Government of India
Ministry of personnel, public Grievances & pensions
Department of personnel & Training
Personnel Policy A-IV

North Block, New Delhi.
Dated: 21st December 2023


Subject :– Relaxation in LTC Rules – delegation of powers to Ministries/Departments regarding time limit for the submission of the claim – Reg

The undersigned is directed to refer to the subject cited above and to state that rules 14 and 15 of CCS(LTC) Rules, 1988 provide that a claim for reimbursement of expenditure incurred on journey under Leave Travel concession is to be submitted within three months after the completion of the return journey, if no advance had been drawn and within one month after the completion of the return journey if advance had been drawn.

2. Vide DoPT’s OM No. 31011/05/2007-Estt (A) dated 27.09.2007 the above timelines were relaxed, and powers delegated to the Ministries /Departments to admit the claim of reimbursement in respect of LTC journey with the concurrence of the financial advisor without referring the matter to DoPT with the following time lines :-

(a) Up to 6 months, if no advance is drawn; and

(b) Up to 3 months if the advance is drawn, provided the Government servant refunds the entire amount of advance (not merely the unutilized portion) within 45 days of completion of the return journey

3. Now in supersession of DoPT’s OM No. 31011/05/2007-Estt.(A) dated 27.09.2007, it has been decided that the Ministries / Departments with the concurrence of the Financial Advisers and subordinate/attached offices with the concurrence of Head of Department not below the rank of Joint Secretary can admit the claim of reimbursement in respect of LTC journey without reference to DoPT with the following timelines in such cases where a Government servant is not in position to submit the claim within the prescribed time-limit under rule 14 and 15 of CCS(LTC) Rules, 1988 and the Ministries/ Departments/attached offices/subordinate offices are satisfied that he/she was not able to do so due to circumstances beyond his/her control:-

i. Cases where no advance is drawn: Up to six months.

ii. Cases where advance is drawn: Up to three months provided the entire advance amount is returned within three months subject to a clause that the entire amount would be recovered within one lumpsum and interest will be charged on the entire amount of advance from the date of drawal to the date of recovery of amount.

4 . Ministries/Departments/attached offices/ subordinate offices are requested to keep these instructions in view while processing belated LTC claims.

5. These instructions are issued with the concurrence of D/o Expenditure and shall be effective from the date of issue of this O.M.

6. Hindi version will follow.

(Satish Kumar)
Under Secretary to the Government of India

All secretaries of Ministries/ Departments of the Government of India (As per the standard list)

Copy to:

1. Comptroller & Auditor General of India, New Delhi.
2. Union Public Service Commission, New Delhi.
3. Central Vigilance Commission, New Delhi.
4. Central Bureau of Investigation, New Delhi.
5. Parliament Library, New Delhi.
6. All Union Territory Administrations.
7. Lok Sabha/ Rajya Sabha Secretariat.
8. All Attached and Subordinate Offices of Ministry of personnel, p.G.
& Pensions.
9. Hindi Section for Hindi version.

Whatsapp Share Button

⌂ Go to Home Page

Latest in Important News
Latest in Other News Sections

StaffCorner brings you the latest authentic Central Government Employees News.
About us | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Archives