01 Dec, 2021 10:20a.m.

Banks to be shut for 12 days in December 2021. Plan you work accordingly


According to a Reserve Bank of India notification, all commercial and public sector banks will be closed for up to 12 days in December this year (RBI). In its yearly list, the Reserve Bank of India has published a list of holidays for the year 2021. The holidays were planned in accordance with this list. Christmas is one of up to seven state-specific holidays. Christmas, on the other hand, falls on the second Saturday of the month, which is already a bank holiday. When the seven holidays and six-weekend leaves are added together, the net number of bank holidays in December equals 12, with Christmas falling in the middle.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has published a list of bank holidays that will be observed. The number of holidays has been set at 11 this month, according to a list published by the central bank. The weekend leaves are the only ones left. All of the month's Sundays, as well as the second and fourth Saturdays, are included. On the first and third Saturdays of each month, banks are open. The list of holidays provided by the RBI is divided into three groups. State-level celebrations, religious holidays, and festival celebrations are all included.

Holidays were announced by the central bank in three categories: 'Holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act,' 'Holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday,' and 'Banks' Closing of Accounts.' All bank branches, including those in the public sector, the private sector, foreign banks, cooperative banks, and regional banks, will be closed on certain designated holidays.

Here is the full list of holidays for the month of December 2021, as per RBI mandate: 

List of Leaves as per the Holiday Under Negotiable Instruments Act

  1. December 3: Feast of St. Francis Xavier — Goa
  2. December 18: Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham — Shillong
  3. December 24: Christmas Festival (Christmas Eve) — Aizawl, Shillong
  4. December 25: Christmas — Guwahati, Hyderabad, Imphal, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Panaji, Patna, Raipur, Ranchi, Shillong, Shimla, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram
  5. December 27: Christmas Celebration — Aizawl
  6. December 30: U Kiang Nangbah — Shillong
  7. December 31: New Year’s Eve — Aizawl

Aside from the state-by-state differences in holidays. On select weekend days, the banks will be closed. In this regard, it should be mentioned that weekend leaves are uniform in character throughout India. The following those leaves:

  1. December 5: Sunday
  2. December 11: Second Saturday of the month
  3. December 12: Sunday
  4. December 19: Sunday
  5. December 25: Fourth Saturday of the month and Christmas
  6. December 26: Sunday

Whatsapp Share Button

⌂ Go to Home Page

Latest in Important News
Latest in Other News Sections

StaffCorner brings you the latest authentic Central Government Employees News.
About us | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Archives